New Saints are Inducted into the National Honor Society

Students hold lit candles in NHS ceremony.
New inductees create a light in darkness.


In a letter dated May 29, 1964, Father Burns and Sister M. Dosithea, SSND addressed the first graduating class of St. Thomas Aquinas High School. In that letter, these two founders of STA reminded the graduates, “We, the faculty, know you will always remember you are responsible agents whose actions have definite results on your lives as well as upon the lives of others. Your life is yours to make or mar.”

Last night at the 2017 Induction Ceremony to the National Honor Society’s Bishop Primeau Chapter, juniors and seniors were again challenged, this time by Principal Collins and their peers. “Our identity, our humanity is inextricably intertwined with our character,” said senior Keshav Joshi as he addressed the new inductees. “Character isn’t built in a few moments; it is the culmination of every single one of our actions, choices, attitudes and thoughts.”

“Whether you’re working on a complex equation, seeking to understand a physics problem or wrestling with an intricate passage from Moby-Dick, you need to ask questions, learn from mistakes and ultimately reach the point of comprehension.” This reminder about scholarship from Abby Bass served as a nice conduit to Principal Collins’ wise words as he urged the new NHS members to never stop asking the most important question in life: “Why?” “Knowledge will give you answers, but compassion will give you questions… and the most important question is “why?” After all, knowledge will answer the question “what,” but you truly have to care to ask “why.”

Congratulations to all the 2017 National Honor Society Inductees. You are joining a prestigious group who represent the pillars of St. Thomas Aquinas High School and NHS: character, scholarship, leadership and service.  We are deeply proud of each and every one of you.



New 2017 NHS Inductees

Chloe Benelli
Jack Benelli
Adrienne Bevins
Brooke Breton
Michael Bua
Jiayi Cao
Andrew Capello
Erin Carberry
Allison Carignan
Kelly Casey
Andrew Cavanaugh
Benjamin Coate
Emma Condon
Emma Connor
Emma Corson
Kate Costello
Lia D'Aquila
Karen Daraoui
William Devaney Jr.
Jack Dillow
Lindsay D'Orazio
Meghan Dowling
Edwin Estevez
Grace Finley
Olivia Fiorini
Kiernan Flanigan
Taylor Foley
Madison Freese
Yujun Fu
Jack Gallines
Joshua Godfroy
Emma Gould
Ethan Guglielmo
Izabella Gyurcsan
Conall Hirsch
Noelle Honan
Marygrace Kaseta
Jacob Kelley
Olivia Kimball
Wenting Lai
Karla Lam
Sabrina Lam
Kieran Licata
Jiaqi Liu
Baixi Long
Audrey MacMillan
Harper Marsh
Anna Metz
Samuel Nadeau
Eloisa Newcomb
Derek O'Brien
Adam Olson
Isabelle Ozkurt
Katherine Paiva
Van Pham